Friday Night Pickleball Ladder

In an effort to provide a greater level of competition and to add some incentive to your pickleball development, we are offering a Ladder format for each Friday night play from 7-9pm effective November 19th.  This Ladder will organize players into similar levels of play ability and award points for wins, losses, and point differentials as you compete against other Friday Night members.  This will also help to determine movement up or down the ladder and further your Pickleball skill development and ranking.

To make this happen, we require you to indicate by return email, your commitment to be a part of this ladder, your name and email, and your self ranking of current skill level in Pickleball.  An unofficial self assessment rating system (see below) is available for your use to determine your current ranking.  Note that this Ladder is designed to include all levels of players.  Please reply to attention Terry Dunnigan by Mon. Nov. 15th with the required info or if you have any questions.

It is our hope to add a social component to this ladder/league by gathering at a local watering hole for libation and snacks following each Friday night competition.  More details regarding this will be provided in due course.

We also are welcoming day member pickleball players (non WBC members) so get the word out to past members, YMCA members, and Cowan players who may be interested.

See you on the Courts

Afternoon Badminton Time |Slots

If you would like to see the afternoon badminton time slots revitalized, please join us at the club on Thursday November 4th at 1 PM.

The club has three afternoon badminton scheduled time slots. Since our latest reopening these time periods have not been utilized.  We have heard from a few players that they have been waiting for other players to come out for these time periods.  Furthermore, we have heard from a few former members that they have not yet renewed their membership, because they are not seeing any activity during the afternoon time slots when they prefer to play.

In response, we are organizing an afternoon time slot “kick-off”. We are encouraging members that prefer to play in the afternoon, to come out to the “kick-off” on Thursday November 4th at 1 PM.  We are also inviting former members to come out that day as well and reconnect with us.

From this initial session, we are hoping we can jump start the other afternoon time slots as well.

If you are interested in playing regularly in an afternoon slot and can not make it on November 4th, please use the registration (the old reservation) tool on the website to let other players know your intention to play at future sessions.

Repurposing the Reservation Tool

The reservation tool is no longer required for tracking or making a reservation for court time for a time slot.

The reservation tool can still be used by members however to identify to other members that they plan to play at the club during a specific time slot. The tool has been renamed a registration tool and can be found under the “Before You Play” menu item on the website.

Many of our morning and afternoon scheduled time slots are currently not being utilized as they were prior to the pandemic.  We encourage members to utilize the reservation tool for these time slots to show their interest in playing so that other members will know that there will be others at the club to play with.

Contact Tracking for Public Health

WBC is required to track who has been utilizing the facility in case there is a need by Public Health to contact trace an individual who has been at the club.  We have been using the reservation tool and a log book at the club for this purpose,

We are changing this process to only use the log book from now on. The log book is on the table across fo the kitchen service window.

All players, spectators and contractors must sign the log book when entering the building.

Thanks for your cooperation.